Back

完善供應鏈能見度,有助大幅增加銷售

零售
完善供應鏈能見度,有助大幅增加銷售

零售銷售並不易做,在面對整體經濟衰退和消費力下降時,零售商就需要盡量提高重要的供應鏈效率。

American Apparel 是一家美國的服裝品牌,每星期生產約150 萬件成衣,在世界各地有260個零售點。經濟不景氣對他們而言,意味著要找出更高效的自動化方法來迅速可靠地補充商店貨架上的商品。

American Apparel 測試和部署項目級別的RFID 系統,令商店經理可跟踪衣物的去向,無論是從預先發貨通知,至後備庫存(back room put away),以至補貨上架和零售區循環點算,到銷售點的執行(point-of-sale execution)。 American Apparel 利用SML IIS(SML 集團成員)先進的RFID 解決方案,既降低勞動力成本和減少缺貨現象,同時也帶動銷售及同店績效(same-store performance)。

 

業務挑戰

American Apparel 使用垂直整合型業務模式,大幅減少使用分包商和離岸勞工,取而代之的是一個非常有效而且可複制和擴充的項目級別庫存管理方法。這個高要求的庫存模式可令每間商店儲存平均12,000 個庫存量單位,而只需在零售樓面存放一個副本,在貨品出售後只需從後備庫存的26,000 件存貨中補貨。

此前,該公司是在銷售點使用條形碼掃描系統來由後備庫存轉移存貨。然而,這個用紙和人手操作的系統要求店員每周用人手點算和確認整個商店庫存兩次,即一個月需要240 個工時, 十分費時和昂貴。該系統也容易出現錯誤和計算誤差,每個點算週期也出現100 至300 不等的庫存物品不翼而飛。

要在苛刻的零售環境中突圍而出,American Apparel 需要一個更出色的業務解決方案。他們需要一個補充系統,通過簡化存儲、分期進貨、上架和銷售的貨品流程,減少一些關鍵庫存功能的時間和成本。

 

解決方案

American Apparel 選擇評估SML IIS 的RFID 系統來跟踪和管理店內庫存,以解決其店內補貨成本高卻效率低的問題,並減少因缺貨而造成的潛在損失。

該公司一開始時在紐約地區一間零售店使用UHF Gen 2 的RFID 科技作試點。試驗涉及用人手為所有商店庫存貼上標籤,以及在庫存中、零售樓面及銷售點使用固定的RFID 閱讀器。作為一個垂直整合的製造商,American Apparel 可選擇在工廠加上標籤,還是在店內用人工加上。

Clarity™是SML IIS 專利的RFID 項目級別庫存管理解決方案,可在整個運作過程中,為零售商提供更廣泛更精細和最新的商品流程模式。這些訊息可令零售經理做出更明智更有效的決策,從而更迅速地發現、解讀和響應消費行為趨勢。 RFID 技術有助降低成本,提高供應鏈效率,並提高客戶的滿意度。

American Apparel 利用RFID 科技,在貨品出售的一刻,就會收到由POS 發出的訊號。倉庫的員工會從庫存中取出貨品,閱讀貨品上的RFID 標籤,確認商品由存庫移到分期補貨區域。當有足夠數量的貨品移到該區時,它們就會被送到零售樓面,再由另一個RFID 讀取器收集數據,以確認這次移動。然後,系統會自動更新零售樓面和倉庫的庫存量。

最初的部署包括工廠裝箱和發出提前發貨通知、店內標籤、以及在接收區、倉庫、倉庫與零售樓面之間的空間、以及POS 位置安裝讀閱器。

該公司在執行時作出若干調整,包括在庫存過程、零售員工的培訓、以及在每間店內的關鍵位置安裝RFID 閱讀器。由於該公司在多個地點經營多間面積大小不一的商店,流量模式和商品種類也不一樣,因此該公司希望在若干地點測試RFID 系統。

American Apparel 與SML IIS 共同實現這個RFID 解決方案,包括硬件安裝、集中軟件配置和更新、員工培訓和在初期接聽尋求支持的電話。

 

結果

RFID 的做法已為American Apparel 提供更高效和具成本效益的補充貨架方法。

在八間店鋪使用RFID 庫存系統後,American Apparel 分析了這次部署的性能,計算出每家店面的銷售增長了14%,主要是因缺貨的情況減少,店內人員可騰出更多時間服務消費者。 RFID 全面實施後,營業額由3%提升至超過10%。

由於減少了循環點算和倉庫搜查的次數,每家商店每月節省了超過188 小時的工時和每月27,072 美元的開支。使用RFID 後,在沒有整合現有的EAS 或防損系統的情況下,收縮也減少了超過50%。

由於準確度達到98%以上,該技術可隨時完成整個存儲周期的點算,American Apparel 因而不需再每年支付第三方高昂的費用去進行每年一至兩次的衣服點算(而且是用人手點算,準確度也較低)。 American Apparel 也注意到,庫存高度保密有助他們與銀行合作夥伴洽談,取得更吸引的信貸。

American Apparel 在使用RFID 後,能更平均地維持庫存的開支,大幅提高銷售而不需使用過多的安全庫存。在一些情況下,American Apparel 的店鋪可減少其後備存貨,增加銷售樓面空間達10%,進一步讓他們重新定位其物業,並在零售樓面增加庫存量單位,以增加銷量。

一項統計評估顯示,RFID 庫存系統的投資,每間店鋪可在平均約4.5 個月內回本。

關於SML IIS (SML 集團成員)

SML Intelligent Inventory Solutions(前身是Xterprise)是專門為服裝品牌持有者和專業零售商提供領導市場的綜合RFID 解決方案開發商。 SML IIS 的Clarity™應用平台是具備圍一流的特性和功能,深明在零售供應鏈執行RFID 庫存管理所需的流程,能為服裝零售商和品牌持有者提供強而有力的解決方案,同時最大限度地降低減少的部署。世界上最大和最出色的零售商也使用Clarity™,其運作得SML IIS 訓練有素的全球技術支持人員的支持。作為SML集團成員,SML IIS 可以提供整個RFID 解決方案任何部分的服務,包括軟件、硬件、具RFID 功能的織入卷標嘜、印花織物卷標、EAS、裝飾、印刷紙標籤等等。 SML IIS 也提供編碼、串行化和卷標管理。

詳情請瀏覽IIS SML 網站:http://www.SML-IIS.com

 

Case Study Thumb:

Back

Maximize Sales with Perfect Supply Chain Visibility

Retail
Maximize Sales with Perfect Supply Chain Visibility

Retail sales are tough enough. But when retailers face a declining general economy and downward pressure on consumer spending, they need to squeeze as much efficiency as possible out of their vital supply chains.

For American Apparel, an US clothing brand that produces some 1.5 million pieces of clothing a week with 260 retail outlets around the world, that meant finding more efficient, automated methods to quickly and reliably replenish merchandise on store shelves.

American Apparel tested and deployed an item level RFID-based system that allowed store managers to track the movement of clothing items from ASN receiving, to back room put away, through restock staging and retail sales floor cycle counts and on to the point-of-sale execution. By leveraging this advanced RFID solution from SML IIS, a member of the SML Group, American Apparel reduced both labor costs and out-of-stocks, while driving improved sales and same-store performance.

Business Challenge

American Apparel utilizes a vertically-integrated business model that minimizes the use of sub-contractors and off-shore labor, relying heavily on a very efficient, repeatable and scalable store item-level inventory management approach. Under that demanding inventory model, each company store stocks an average of 12,000 SKUs, keeping only a single copy of each item on the retail sales floor and replenishing those products from a backroom stock of 26,000 items once the item is sold.

The company had previously used a barcode scanning system at the point of sale to trigger the transfer of inventory from the stock room. However, this manual, paperbased system required store personnel to perform twice-weekly physical counts for confirmation of overall store inventories. Those manual counts were timeconsuming and costly, typically requiring 240 man-hours a month. The system was also prone to errors and miscounts, revealing anywhere from 100 to 300 missing inventory items during each count cycle.

To compete and succeed in today’s demanding retail environment, American Apparel needed a better business solution. The company needed a replenishment system that would streamline the process of moving merchandise through backroom storage to staging, store shelves and sales—reducing the time and cost of those critical inventory functions.

Our Solution

American Apparel chose to evaluate SML IIS’s RFID-based system to track and manage in-store inventory, address the cost and inefficiency of its in-store replenishment and reduce potential lost sales due to out of stocks.

The company began with a pilot program testing UHF Gen 2 RFID technology in a single New York area retail outlet. The test involved the manual tagging of all store inventories, and the use of fixed RFID readers in the storeroom, on the retail floor and at the point-of-sale. As a vertically integrated manufacturer, American Apparel had the option of tagging and commissioning to associate each item of merchandise with a tag at the factory, or tagging manually at the store.

Clarity™, SML IIS’s proprietary RFID item-level inventory management solution, gives retailers a broader, more granular and up-to-the-minute perspective on the flow of merchandise through their operations. That information enables retail managers to make smarter and more effective decisions, allowing them to spot, understand and respond to developing trends in consumer behavior. RFID technology can be the catalyst that drives lower costs, enhanced supply chain productivity and greater customer satisfaction.

Utilizing this RFID-based technology, American Apparel now receives an alert from the POS the moment an item has been sold. Storeroom employees then pick the item from inventory and then read the item’s RFID tag to confirm the movement of merchandise from backroom to staging area. Once a sufficient number of items have been staged, they are moved to the retail sales floor where another RFID reader gathers the data needed to confirm that movement. The system then automatically updates the retail sales floor and backroom inventory counts.

The initial deployment included factory box packing and ASN generation, in-store tagging, as well as fixed readers in the receiving area, back room, portal between the back room and retail sales floor, and POS locations.

The company made several adjustments for implementation, including changes in inventory processes, training of retail employees, and the positioning of RFID readers at key locations within each store. Because the company operated multiple stores in various geographical locations with unique sizes, traffic patterns and assortments of merchandise, the company wanted to test the RFID system in a number of locations.

American Apparel worked with SML IIS to implement this RFID solution, including hardware installation, centralized software provisioning and updates, staff training and the handling of early-stage support calls.

The Results

This RFID-based approach has given American Apparel a more efficient and costeffective method for replenishing store shelves.

Following the rollout of this RFID-based inventory system to eight stores, American Apparel analyzed the performance of this deployment, measuring a sales-per-store increase of 14%, thanks mainly to a reduction in out-of-stocks and increased availability of store personnel to assist consumers. The sales lift ranged from 3% to over 10% after RFID was fully implemented.

Each store saved over 188 hours a month in labor and an estimated $27,072 per month, due primarily to reduced cycle counting and storeroom searches. Shrink also reduced by over 50% with the presence of RFID, without integration of existing EAS or loss prevention systems.

With inventory accuracy above 98% and technology enabling complete store cycle counts as often as desired, American Apparel avoided paying a 3rd party thousands of dollars per store once or twice a year to count garments by hand at lower accuracy. American Apparel also noted the higher level of confidence in inventory enhanced their ability to leverage more attractive financial facilities with banking partners.

With RFID, American Apparel better balances the costs of maintaining appropriate inventory levels to maximize sales without use of excessive safety stocks. In several cases, American Apparel stores were able to reduce their back stock and increase sales floor space by as much as 10%, further allowing them to repurpose their real estate and increase SKU mix on the sales floor for driving incremental sales.

A statistical evaluation revealed an average payback of about 4.5 months per store for this RFID inventory system investment.

AboutSML IIS (A member of the SML Group)

SML Intelligent Inventory Solutions (previously Xterprise) is a developer of marketleading integrated RFID solutions focused on apparel brand owners and specialty retailers. SML IIS’s Clarity™ application platform is built around best-in-class features and functionalities combined with a deep understanding of the processes required to execute RFID inventory management in the retail supply chain, giving apparel retailers and brand owners a powerful solution while minimizing the complexity of deployment. Clarity™ is used by the world’s largest and finest retailers around the world, and supported by SML IIS’s global team of highly trained support personnel. As a member of SML Group, SML IIS can deliver any part of a complete RFID solution, including software, hardware, RFID-enabled woven labels, printed fabric labels, EAS, trim, printed paper tags, and more. SML IIS also manages encoding, serialization and tag management.

 

Case Study Thumb: